Our Instagram “Aesthetics”

Examining something that I use so routinely in my everyday life, like social media, in such a critical way has made me a lot more conscious about not only the way I’m using it, but the way others are.

More specifically the ideas of online identities. When using a social media platform like Instagram, I would never have given any thought to the amount of effort I and many of my friends put into the ‘aesthetics of their instagrams’. But, the idea of an alternate online identity has made me question whether we present ourselves on social media as we are or as what we want to be. Are we being deceitful?

Instead of deceit, I think it’s a bit more like branding yourself. I’m not a stranger to the idea of having to have a personal brand in order to be successful, but it seems like it’s something that we’re already doing just as someone living in the digital age. I would argue that you can tell a lot about a person just by looking at their Instagram.  For example, the instagram aesthetics on Jayden Smith’s instagram immediately let you know what a fashion forward hipster he is, or at least wants you think he is.

IMG_0665.PNG

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. I like how you are saying that simply by living in the digital age we participate in creating our own brand. Indeed, even your choice of platform determines what is your ‘brand’ (For example, mainstream YouTube vs more niche and ‘artsy’ Vimeo). But I don’t think it is a bad thing. In current economic conditions of high unemployment and competition, one’s profile online can be an additional opportunity for people to show who they are and what they can do. This is particularly important and useful in media or creative industries, I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

