No social life without Sacrifice.

What I found most interesting in this module is the concept of today’s generation having to sacrifice their privacy in order to have an online social life. It’s obvious that you pretty much have to be online to have any communication with each other these days.

I can personally relate to this, within university when I have been put in groups to present with people I haven’t met before, I don’t know how I would have kept in contact with my peers and organised our meet ups without Facebook.

Social networks like Facebook allow you to communicate with pretty much everyone, wherever they live, for free. It allows you to keep in contact and updated with people that live so far away you’d never otherwise know about their lives. But at what cost can we get these social benefits?

opinon-johanson-internet-issue10-640x498

We have to give a photo, a name, an email, your birthday and a password just to have a Facebook page. If you were to read the Facebook terms and conditions when you sign up, they say that they can use your photos and collect your information for their own use. Not only this but you can never actually delete your Facebook, only deactivate it, meaning your profile is never really gone. People who use the site tend to get dragged into it as well and begin to share their whole lives with their Facebook friends, photos, videos, locations, statuses sharing what they’ve been up too.

Facebook has 1.3 billion users world wide, it’s fair to say the majority of people have an account and so if you don’t then your at a massive disadvantage of a social life and communication. So ask yourself is your social life online worth your privacy?

3 Comments

  1. I think these question are really interesting and important to ask. And it (kind of) relates to what we talked about in the last seminar as well – when discussing the question of how essential social media platforms have become for our daily lives. I think it is correct to call Facebook essential to some extend. Especially when thinking of all my friends living abroad who I want to catch up with and all the information shared in the various groups I am part of. Without Facebook I wouldn’t be able to read the questions and debates going on in the Facebook group of my Journalism course and I am pretty sure I would’ve at least missed one deadline by now. We get these certain social benefits from platforms like Facebook. But, on the other hand, we pay for them in giving Facebook access to our private lives and everything we do. Overall however, I would still always create a Facebook account again. And yes, nowadays it feels like I have to sacrifice my privacy to a huge extend to be part of the social life online.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re completely right that we need social networks in order to communicate fully in the modern world. As social networks are so common now, I don’t think we have thought enough into the positives and negatives – we take it at it’s face value. Even when I do think about the information I give away, the questions I ask myself are “what’s the worst that they can actually do?” As an organisation, they can do what they like with that information, but whether that could actually cause any harm to me is unknown. On the other hand, I’m sure that I can control what my ‘friends’ see, and I choose to give this information out.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. For my television project we have a Facebook group, where we discuss our ideas and post our work to each other, as well as a range meetings. This is incredible useful to me, as without Facebook I wouldn’t know what was going on to do with my course. I also believe that sociall networking sites like Facebook do takeaway part of our privacy but at the end of rn day it’s us as the user who decides what we want to share. Therefore I personally feel that it is ourself to blame for the lack of privacy we have, not social networking.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

