My Not-So Private Life

I have signed up to basically every social media out there (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube, Tumblr) and all of these sites have my details stored on them. Some of these sites I use a lot more than other but this doesn’t change the fact that they have my details and after I typed them into their system, they have the power to do what ever they want with them .

Before coming to uni I never really thought about my online privacy, I must admit I was one of those people who adopted the ‘I got nothing to hide’ mentality. However, especially this semester, it has made me think a whole lot more about me online. My Instagram and Facebook are private, however we all know Facebook privacy isn’t strong at all and constant monitoring of your privacy settings is required. My Twitter on the other hand isn’t private. This is mostly down to the way I use it. I see it as a platform to engage with other who share the same views and interests as you, so having it private would hinder my use of the site and it wouldn’t be the same.

I am now a lot more conscious of my online self and have professionalised myself online in a way, knowing what I know now about corporations and the loss of ownership of my details has made me try to recover my lost private life that I gave up to the internet.

Leave a Reply

