The essence of blogging

Blogs have become a necessary part of online culture. Through the blogs opinions are expressed, people can share their views unlimitedly. Even though the first blog was created in 1994, according to Technorati’s State of the Blogosphere report, by the middle of 2006 there were already 50 million blogs.

My personal blogging history started when I was 12 — I realised that this is the field where I can share my novels, poetry and impressions of the day. I was blogging a lot without realising what kind of impact blogging gives to the society.

When I started studying at University, I read a book by Andrew Keen, called “The cult of the amateur: how blogs, MySpace, YouTube, and the rest of today’s user-generated media are destroying our economy, our culture, and our values” and conceived that even if in the first place Internet was created as a source to seek the information, culture or news, we are using it as a platform to broadcast ourselves. Almost all of the social media platforms create no content by itself, but this is enough for people who desperately try to create an online mirror to themselves.

Because of this reason, I believe, the social media and the culture of blogging is enormously growing even if the history of blogging is very short. People are trying not to seek the news, but to be the news. I hope that in the future people will realise that the Internet doesn’t reflect the real life and will try to think about the content they’re publishing in more details.

Leave a Reply

